President of the Society

Francesco Benazzo is full professor of Orthopaedics and Traumatology 2000-2022 – University of Pavia. Now at IUSS Pavia – Supoerior Instruction University (2022). Chairman of the Sezione di Chirurgia Protesica ad Indirizzo Robotico – Sezione di traumatologia dello sport at Fondazione Poliambulanza Istituto Ospedaliero, Brescia.

Main interest: knee and hip prosthetic replacement, primary and revision. President in charge of the SIdA (Società Italiana dell’anca).

Executive Committee

Andrea Baldini is Director of IFCA Institute in Florence, Italy Research focus on all aspects of the Fast Track pathway. Active research in total knee arthroplasty surgical technique and planning.

Former President of the European Knee Society with more than 60 peer reviewed papers and book chapters.

Sebastien Parratte (MD, PhD) is a consultant orthopaedic surgeon at International Knee and Joint Centre, Abu Dhabi, UAE and he has a research position at the Institute of Locomotion in Marseille, France. He is the Treasurer of the European Knee Society.

Pr Parratte’s clinical activity is focused mainly on knee surgery. He has particular interest in partial knee Arthroplasty and robotics, alignment in knee Arthroplasy and robotics.

Anders Troelsen, is a professor within the field of orthopaedics. He is positioned at the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, Copenhagen University Hospital Hvidovre, Denmark, where he serves as a senior consultant performing knee and hip arthroplasty.

In the past years, Anders Troelsen cooperated on publishing 200 peer-reviewed articles in national and international journals. The primary research focus has been to improve the treatment outcomes for patients with knee and hip OA and subsequent replacement surgery including unicompartmental knee arthroplasty.

Emmanuel Thienpont is Head of Knee Surgery & Associate Chief of Surgery at the University Hospital Saint Luc, Brussels, Belgium.

He is a Full Professor of Université Catholique de Louvain (UCL). His primary research focus is knee arthroplasty including partial knee arthroplasty.

Jan Victor is a Medical Doctor 1985

PhD Medical Sciences 2009

2011- today: full professor Orthopedics at Ghent University, Head of department orthopedics and traumatology UZ Ghent

Presidential Line

Michel Bonnin, MD, PhD, is an orthopedic surgeon trained in the Lyon School of Knee Surgery.

His practice is exclusively Total Joint Surgery in Lyon, France at the Centre Orthopédique Santy.

Ex - Officio Members

President of Fellowship Committee


Sébastien Lustig is a hip and knee reconstructive surgeon and Professor of Orthopaedics Surgery at Lyon North University Hospitals in Lyon, France.

He is Chair of the Orthopaedic Department, Director of the Orthopaedic program at Lyon University.

He is board member of the European Knee Society and of the French hip and Knee Society.

He is also Deputy Editor of The Journal of Bone & Joint Surgery (Am).

Past Presidents

2013 – Ate Wymenga
2014 – Jean-Noël Argenson
2015 – Johan Bellemans
2016 – Jan Victor
2017 – Chris Dodd
2018 – Andrea Baldini
2019 – Emmanuel Thienpont
2020 – Fabio Catani
2021 – Gijs van Hellemondt
2022 – David Barrett

Over 100 knee experts in Europe have in the meantime joined this new society, with the aim to strengthen and consolidate the European knowledge and expertise in this domain.

EKS Secretariat | Stationsstraat 7A 301- 3150 Haacht, Belgium | Email Us | Privacy Statement EKS